I'm a member of a few local websites here that do loyalty programs and the like, some surveys etc. From time to time they send out offers, sometimes for free samples, sometimes for other sites that do money-making schemes, sometimes with links to gambling sites etc - not always the, stuff to grab my attention, but from time to time I'll click a few links to see what's on offer (not on the gambling ones, don't trust those...)
A couple of days ago an offer came that was worded well enough that I thought I'd take a second look and I filled out the form to ask for more info. In due course an email arrived that I completely ignored in the throes of my carpet blower driving me insane and promptly left the house for some sanity time. On my return the next day there was a call on my cellphone from a very helpful lady in Arizona offering to tell me more about the thing.
What they offer is a website with advertising links - associate links - to places like Yahoo, Amazon, RealPlayer, and I didn't write down the other one but there were 4 if you wanted to, and a website with your own domain name that they host, renewal fee of $19.95US per year for the hosting, and of course the hosting fee was waived for the first year. I can set up for one of 3 plans, with different numbers of referral links (basic one associate, standard 2 associates, and elite 4 associates) at a not intolerable cost considering that the site comes with 4 pages that I can set up with whatever I want on them (as well as their advertising links).
I've been looking to get a website - my mum's one is doing really well and is finally starting to rake in the customers (from all around the world), so that's probably why this one grabbed my attention. Oh, they also guarantee I'll start making money in the first 90 days or else I get my fee back.
So - why am I dithering? Several reasons:
1. Website will not fit into my September budget = October earliest I can do it.
2. Other offers on the original link included several gambling sites = I'm not 100% sure I trust it.
3. The same day that I filled that out, coincidentally there was a 401 scam type email sent through to another email list I am a member of. I warned the group, but it's set me on super-suspicious at the moment.
4. When I asked her if I could look at some sample sites, she told me not until I'd signed up = that always gives me alarm bells.
** When I looked up the site from the domain in her email address there was a site with sample pages to view, so it could be she just wanted to make the sale and not lose me to another method of purchasing.
Has anyone heard of/experienced this crowd? They are: www.ohnlive.com
They do have contact telephone numbers from New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, UK, Canada, Ireland and US - but I gather all the numbers link back to the one base in Arizona.
