Web Release Notes: April 21, 2020

Release Notes

Tuesday. What a concept. This particular Tuesday, we’ve got a veritable cornucopia of fixes and improvements that we’ve shipped out…just in time for Thanksgiving! What? It’s STILL April?!!! OK. Well, we can at least agree that “cornucopia” is an amazing word and we don’t use it enough. There are no rules anymore, except DON’T TOUCH YOUR FACE…which is impossible…where were we? Oh yes, here is a lovely assortment of fixes we released today…just in time for Valentine’s Day…OK, I’ll stop:

  • In order to help all of our OG YNAB 4 users migrate over to…current YNAB(?) we have a link to assist in that migration for new budgets. Until this release, the “Migrate YNAB 4 Budget” link was showing up on the “Budget Settings” popup as well as the “New Budget” popup. It will now only show up on the “New Budget” popup, which makes more sense. 
  • Oh, hey, we fixed the tooltips on the Spending Trends chart. Before this release, Kyle (one of our front-end devs) said that an issue was causing the chart to “gobble the hover event.” Guessing there was a turkey involved there…so maybe Thanksgiving did come early??? ?
  • Before this release, we were sometimes showing an incorrect error message for certain direct import connections. We went through and changed this particular message so that it’s now correct. I know this is vague, but we are doing some exciting things with direct import connections in the coming weeks, so…I think this will make sense in the future.
  • We fixed an issue on the “Add Linked Account” popup where the “Known Connection Issue” text would animate and cover the input field. We fixed that, and we also learned a fun lesson about CSS transition properties as well. Win win?

API News

  • Hot off the presses: You can now specify a transfer payee_id for a subtransaction when creating a split transaction. This allows for split transactions that transfer to another account. I know…split transactions! Our old friend returns! It actually never left, though.
  • Before this release, when a user was presented with the authorization screen for the API and the user decided to log out and log in as a different user to authorize that user instead, they were redirected to their budget when they logged back in, instead of the authorization screen. Now they’re redirected back to the authorization screen so they can, you know, authorize the app.