Menu
Menu Back

Learn All Things YNAB

How Much Time Do You Have?

Free For 34-Days, Then $6.99 a Month*

On average, new budgeters save $600 by month two and more than $6,000 the first year! Pretty solid return on investment.

Sign up for a free trial today!

No credit card required.

Close

Start taking control 
of your money today!

Close

Cancellation Policy

Last modified: October 25, 2017

We’ll cut right to the chase. We firmly believe you should only pay for things you actually want. That’s Rule One of budgeting after all.

How to Cancel

If you signed up for YNAB on an iPhone or iPad, your subscription is managed by iTunes. (You might know it as Apple or the App Store or that newfangled Touch ID thing.) To cancel, open up your YNAB mobile app and go to Settings > Manage Subscription in iTunes.

If you signed up through YNAB directly, continue on!

Cancel a Trial

When you start your fully-featured, 34-day, free trial, we don’t ask for payment information. So, there’s typically nothing to cancel. You can simply let the trial expire.

That is, unless you chose to subscribe during the trial, then you’ll need to cancel your upcoming subscription so you’re not charged at the end.

If you’d like to delete your YNAB account, log in, go to My Account, and click the Delete Account button towards the bottom. Or, we’ll automatically delete it for you once your trial has been expired for at least 120 days.

Cancel a Subscription

To cancel your subscription, log in and go to My Account. Scroll down a bit (it’s not a long page) and click the aptly named ‘Cancel your subscription’ button. From there it’s pretty self-explanatory. Once you confirm the cancellation, you will no longer be charged.

That’s how to make sure your subscription is cancelled immediately. The other option is to send a message to help@youneedabudget.com from the email address associated with your YNAB account and we can cancel it for you. We’ll do it. But we can’t promise you we’ll enjoy it.

Either way, you’ll have access to your budget until the end of your billing cycle, and you can resume your subscription if you change your mind. Once your subscription expires, if you log back in, you’ll need to re-subscribe. (May we recommend a Fresh Start?)

Canceling your subscription does not delete your data, but you’ll see that option in My Account as well. We won’t delete your account unless your subscription has been expired for at least three years, as explained in our Data Retention policy.

How Refunds Work

We try our best to make sure you only pay for things you actually want. If, after the 34-day free trial, you pay for an annual subscription and then decide not to use YNAB, you can delete your account to automatically receive a pro-rated refund for the unused time. It’s our Don’t Pay for Stuff You Won’t Use policy.

If you don’t feel like you have more control of your money with YNAB, and you’re looking to take advantage of our Money-Back Guarantee, write to us at help@youneedabudget.com.

Further Questions?

If you have any further questions about how all of this works, please write us at help@youneedabudget.com. We’re happy to answer any and all questions you have! Please clear up any questions before you hand us your credit card and subscribe. We want you knowing exactly what you’re buying, with all questions answered, before you pay us any of your hard-earned money. We like our money to be hard-earned as well.

YNAB.

Follow YNAB to get support and lots of great ideas on budgeting