Skip to Content

Cancellation Policy

Last modified: June 6, 2022

We’ll cut right to the chase. We firmly believe you should only pay for things you actually want. That’s Rule One of budgeting after all.

How to Cancel

If you signed up through YNAB directly, continue on!

If you signed up for YNAB through Apple’s App Store or Google’s Play Store, your subscription is managed by that third party.

To cancel through the App Store, open up your YNAB mobile app and go to Settings > Manage Subscription in iTunes.

To cancel through the Play Store, you can access My Subscriptions in the Google Play Store or from a mobile device, Open the Play Store app > Tap the Google ID image in the upper right corner > Payments and Subscriptions > Subscriptions.

Cancel a Trial

When you start your fully-featured, 34-day, free trial, we don’t ask for payment information. So, there’s typically nothing to cancel. You can simply let the trial expire.

That is, unless you chose to subscribe during the trial, then you’ll need to cancel your upcoming subscription so you’re not charged at the end.

If you’d like to delete your YNAB account, log in, go to Account Settings, and click the Delete Account button towards the bottom. Or, we’ll automatically delete it for you once your trial has been expired for at least 120 days.

Cancel a Subscription

To cancel your subscription, log in and go to Account Settings. Scroll down a bit (it’s not a long page) and click the aptly named ‘Cancel your subscription’ button. From there it’s pretty self-explanatory. Once you confirm the cancellation, you will no longer be charged.

That’s how to make sure your subscription is cancelled immediately. The other option is to send a message to [email protected] from the email address associated with your YNAB account and we can cancel it for you. We’ll do it. But we can’t promise you we’ll enjoy it.

Either way, you’ll have access to your budget until the end of your billing cycle, and you can resume your subscription if you change your mind. Once your subscription expires, if you log back in, you’ll need to re-subscribe. (May we recommend a Fresh Start?)

Canceling your subscription does not delete your data, but you’ll see that option in Account Settings as well. We won’t delete your account unless your subscription has been expired for at least three years, as explained in our Data Retention policy.

How Refunds Work

We try our best to make sure you only pay for things you actually want. If, after the 34-day free trial, you pay for an annual subscription and then decide not to use YNAB, you can delete your account to receive a pro-rated refund for the remaining time. It’s our Don’t Pay for Stuff You Won’t Use policy.

If you have purchased your subscription through any third-party app store (such as Apple’s App Store or Google’s Play Store), your subscription is managed by that third-party app store and will be subject to their terms on refunds.

Further Questions?

If you have any further questions about how all of this works, please write us at [email protected] We’re happy to answer any and all questions you have! Please clear up any questions before you hand us your credit card and subscribe. We want you knowing exactly what you’re buying, with all questions answered, before you pay us any of your hard-earned money. We like our money to be hard-earned as well.